Sweet As Pie

Here is our weekly feature and we just adore him! Not only is he one of the cutest things ever, how adorable are his photos? We don’t only feature Goldendoodles and doodle breeds, it has just happened that way recently. Sit back and enjoy this weeks furry friend.

     _MG_6645_2_MG_2193-sq_MG_2449

  1. How did you and your pup come to be a pair or dynamic duo?

We lost our 12 year old, 3 lb. Papillon in December. I didn’t want another dog, but my husband did. He kept showing me cute puppy pics, but I resisted. I mean, I was busy after all, and puppies are a lot of work, right? Then it dawned on me… adopting a puppy could be a wonderful life lesson for our 2 foster grandsons.

Those sweet boys came into our lives 18 months ago, when my daughter and her husband decided to be foster parents. I immediately fell in love with them, and became very involved in their lives. I loved being a grandparent! We told them that we were their “waiting family” and that they would one day go to a “forever family” but that concept is hard for a 5 year old and a 2 1/2 year old to understand.

I thought that the adoption process of a puppy could help them see how wonderful adoption can be. And… when they did go to their forever home, I would need something to help fill the hole in my heart….. enter Reagan. Our boys were involved in the whole process, from picking out Reagan to bringing him home and caring for him. We explained to them that Reagan had a few families, just like they do. His birth mom couldn’t take care of him anymore, so the breeders became his “waiting family”. They took good care of him, loved him, taught him a few things, and prepared him well for the transition to his “forever family”. They learned that Reagan was probably a little nervous about moving in with us, but once we brought him home, he could tell how much we wanted and adored him, so he knew that we would take good care of him, and love him like crazy – forever.

Reagan was 6 months old when the boys moved to their forever home. It was a bittersweet time for sure – and I am SO glad that I have Reagan to focus on.

2. How old is your pup?
Reagan is almost 7 months. He was born Feb. 23, 2014

3. What are some of your pups favorite things to do? Feel free to include certain hang out spots, etc.
Reagan loves to eat. Anything and everything! Loves chew toys as well. He loves to steal socks, and shred paper towels & toilet paper. He loves to chase and be chased. He loves car and boat rides and he loves to sleep. Basically, anywhere we are is his favorite place.

_MG_9666_MG_9998-sq_2

4. How do you keep your pet active and still mange to get things done?

As long as he gets his daily walks and has something to chew on, he’s quite content.

5. What are a few of your favorite pet products and why?
My brother and sister gifted us Barkbox. I love it! It’s delivered to our house every month and is full of great toys and edible goodies. Fun!

_MG_2767_2

6. If your pet could be one super hero who would it be and why?
Can teddy bears be super heros? Because Reagan is like a stuffed animal – soft and cuddly, cute and playful.

7. What are a few of your favorite things about your pet?

Reagan is a great poser for photo shoots! He puts up with all my crazy photo shenanigans. He lets me dress him up, and poses for me in all kinds of settings. As long as there is a treat involved, he will do almost anything. He’s very smart and easily trainable. Now…. if I could just get him to leave the toilet paper rolls alone. 🙂

8. Feel free to include a little bit about yourself, your passions, etc.

I work part time as an RN. My passion is photography. Reagan is such a wonderful little model that he has fueled the fire for that passion. Ever since we brought Reagan home on March 18, my facebook page photos have gone to the dogs. I used to post sunsets and sunrises, and beautiful scenic images – but …. Reagan took over. My kids convinced me that Reagan needed his own Instagram account, so I finally made him one. We spend the summers on a floating home on the Columbia River in Portland, Oregon. It is gorgeous and provides many sunrise/sunset photos and, of course, interesting shots of Reagan at the river as well.

_MG_2449_MG_3176_MG_1802

How sweet is this pup and his family? We love their story and the heart behind Reagan. Don’t you just want to eat him up? We do! Reagan is also on Instagram, so be sure to follow him and show him some love. 

_MG_2064-pup-square_MG_2086-pup-square

If you know a furry friend who you think should be featured, let us know! Contact us at The Golden Dood at thegoldendood@gmail.com. We would love to meet your furry friend! 

4 thoughts on “Sweet As Pie

    • Yes, their story is wonderful! So glad you had a chance to read it and learn a little bit about Reagan. Also, if only we could all teach our pups to drive. Now that would be something 🙂

      Taylor&Fletcher

      Like

Leave a Comment Doods!

