Running… how much is too much?

This post has me thinking and wondering… How much running for a dog is too much? Leave feedback please!

How much running is too much for a dog?
(polls)

 

Looking for other Dog Health Advice? Feel free to check out our Fluffy Health Advice.

Smart GSD, Amateur Owner

runningHi Blog-world! Hoping to get some thoughts on running with my pup.

Kinley and I started running when she was a year old. We do about 2-4 miles once a week and sometimes a couple days a week. Her hips and paw pads are great.

I spoke with my obedience instructor about distance because I had heard from many people that 3 miles was the max that dogs should run. He explained to me that if your dog get in it’s stride (which usually happens if you are biking) you can go for 12 miles taking breaks every 4 miles to check paw pads and get water.

Any thoughts on how often I should run her a week?

View original post

3 thoughts on “Running… how much is too much?

  1. My dog is ~37lbs and I run 3-6mi regularly with her on the road and she loves it. I have done up to 13mi trail runs with her off the leash so she gets to go at her pace and she loves loves loves that, and probably ends up doing way more because she runs in and out of the woods. I think if you make sure to keep and eye on how they are doing you can much farther than 3mi. I have been running with her since she was 1 and she is over 5 now and have never had an issue. I t sort of ebbs and flows though and we run more if I am training for something.

    Like

Leave a Comment Doods!

