Are Two Dogs Better Than One?

So as you all probably know we’ve been missing for a while. We sincerely apologize. Life gets busy and time seems to fly by. We hope you all have been well, and had a wonderful holiday season. If you follow us on social media, you probably have seen our new addition. Let me back up here for a second. From the moment I got Fletcher, I had considered getting him a buddy. Another doodle of some kind. I bantered back and forth, things fell through, and it never seemed to work out. I was at the point where I literally searched for goldendoodles, labradoodles, and any kind of doodle all day long. I leave for work pretty early (7:30AM) to be precise; and let me tell you, if you’ve never had big brown puppy eyes stare you down as you close the door, you’re very lucky. It’s seriously heartbreaking, especially if you’re obsessed with your pets like I am!

Why Two Dogs Are Better Than One

Why are two dogs better than one? It seems simple to me but, in my defense, I wasn’t just absorbed with looking at cute puppies all day. It was more than that. I wanted a companion for Fletcher and I love the breed. I constantly found myself stressed out about whether or not I was going to make it to the gym or exercise Fletcher. There just isn’t enough time in the day to get it all done. My argument for why two dogs are better than one was this; getting another puppy will give Fletcher a buddy and they will primarily exercise themselves. Playing, wrestling, and fighting over toys! It’s the best idea. I knew that getting another puppy probably sounded crazy, since Fletcher is still a puppy himself, but why not knock it all out at the same time! They will both be trained and will have known each other since they were young. In my opinion it was the perfect plan! So if you haven’t already figured it out, I got another doodle! This time a Labradoodle and we named him Dirk. He is currently 6 months old and doing great, one of the best choices I have ever made. In the beginning it is stressful and a TON of work, but when you see them romping and entertaining each other and having the best time, it makes all the work worth it. Since we have added Dirk to the family, we have received the same question from our fans, “Are two dogs better than one?

Now for the fun part

Maybe you’re going back and forth trying to decide are two dogs really better than having just one? Let me help you in making that decision. It’s a big one, but also a fun one!

HOW are two dogs better than one – 3 PROS

First off, you pretty much have a built in dog park. If you think about it, when you take your dog to the park they usually find that one dog they play with the whole time. Having two dogs is like your pup always being at the dog park!

Second, you don’t have to constantly feel bad about leaving your (single) dog at home. You might say, “Well now they are both at home. How does that help?” Well, think of it in this way, it’s just like you and I. When we’re lonely sometimes all we need is another person to be present, in the room, there with us. Having another dog will ensure that your pup will never be lonely. When you leave, there is always someone there.

Last but not least, it really isn’t that much more work. Some people say, “Well now we’re going to have to do this, and buy that.” You already buy this and do that, so now you’ll just do a little extra. I was one of those that thought I was going to have to double the work, but in reality the workload is pretty much the same; and that’s coming from someone with two fur balls. If I can do it, so can you! I hope this helps you in your decision, and if you decide to add another pup to your growing family I highly doubt you will be disappointed!

Did we answer your question,”Are two dogs better than one?” Do you know if you want to add a second pup to your family yet? Feel free to ask us any questions or leave your stories about why two dogs are better than one.   We would love to hear from you and hope this helps:)

12 thoughts on “Are Two Dogs Better Than One?

  1. As a dog, I can tell you 2 are better than 1. I can’t imagine my life without Khia. Mom and Dad don’t have nearly enough energy to keep up with me on my laziest of days. Plus, like you said, what would I do when both of them are gone from the house? Yep, definitely need 2!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment Doods!

